League voted to delay the start of the 2020/21 season until January 2021

(NASHVILLE, TN - July 27, 2020) - South Eastern Collegiate Hockey Conference (SECHC) commissioner Justin B. Bradford has announced that the league has voted to postpone the start of the 2020/21 season until at least January 2021. 


After receiving feedback from all 17 member schools of the SECHC, the league held an emergency vote to determine the status of the fall semester. With multiple schools not allowing club sports to take place for the semester, the league overall decided that this was the best course of action.


“By delaying the start of the season, this will give the SECHC and its teams time to re-evaluate many things like scheduling, budget and status with their respective universities,” said Bradford. “Our teams come from schools represented by schools in seven states and multiple athletic conferences; all with different takes on dealing with the pandemic. We have had multiple conversations with our teams in how their schools are handling club sports, the status of their home rinks and financial difficulties some may face due the pandemic. By taking all of these items into account, the executive committee put the decision to vote by the conference.”


The SECHC is a member-run league, and that’s why putting it to a vote was imperative to the executive committee, which consists of Bradford, John Camp and Kenny “Sarge” Day.


With the season now suspended until at least 2021, the SECHC will now re-evaluate the situation in the fall and make further determinations on the status of the season then. 


“We know this is a moving target and a fluid situation,” Bradford said. “We will continue to have conversations with our teams and then work to make the season happen in the winter if we can safely do so. The health and safety of our student athletes is our priority, as is the health of our member clubs and their ability to survive as organizations through the pandemic.”


Further updates for the league can be found on SECHC social media channels.

Media requests and questions can be sent to commissioner Justin Bradford at