CHF announce.jpg


Teams to begin play in CHF beginning January 2021

(NASHVILLE, TN – August 23, 2020) – Commissioner Justin B. Bradford of the South Eastern Collegiate Hockey Conference (SECHC) and Commissioner Mike Canacari of the Southern Collegiate Hockey Conference (SCHC) have jointly announced the move of governing bodies for both conferences to the Collegiate Hockey Federation (CHF).


“We are thrilled that more leagues are taking notice of the CHF and are very proud and excited to announce the addition of two southern conferences to our initial focus on the Northeast and mid-Atlantic geographies,” said Mark Purowitz, Chairman of the CHF. “The SECHC and SCHC have storied histories, with great leaders who are like-minded and want to offer the best experience for the players. We are honored and humbled that these two leagues have chosen to join the CHF and look forward to a long journey together.”


Commissioners Bradford and Canacari are enthusiastic about the future with the CHF.


"The SECHC and SCHC are thrilled to join the CHF, which puts the student-athlete first. Our student-athletes are at the core for why we exist, and our conferences made this decision with that in mind. We understand this is a big leap for both conferences, but we feel this is the right direction for us. We will both have representation in the evolution of the league at the governing body level as well as at the national tournament. We look forward to working with the leadership of the CHF in building a fantastic governing organization to lead us all into the future of non-varsity collegiate hockey."

 - Justin B. Bradford and Mike Canacari



About the SECHC and SCHC:

The South Eastern Collegiate Hockey Conference (SECHC) is entering its 13th season in 2020-21. The SECHC has three divisions: East, West and South. These 17 teams make up the SECHC: Alabama, Alabama-Huntsville, Arkansas, Auburn, Clemson, Florida, Florida Atlantic, Florida State, Georgia, Georgia Tech, Kennesaw State, Lynn, Middle Tennessee State, Ole Miss, South Carolina, Tennessee, Vanderbilt. The representative body of 17 teams participate in Division II of the Collegiate Hockey Federation.


The Southern Collegiate Hockey Conference (SCHC) is a group of six Collegiate Hockey Federation Men's Division II hockey teams founded in 2014 and consisting of teams who have participated in over 25-years of competitive collegiate hockey. The conference currently consists of Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University Eagles (2018-present), Florida Gulf Coast University Eagles (2014-present), University of Central Florida Knights (2014-present), University of Miami Hurricanes (2016-present), University of South Florida Bulls (2014-present), University of Tampa Spartans (2014-present).